Announcement of Nobel Prize

We are very happy to announce that Professors Yoichiro Nambu, Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2008.

Professors Kobayashi and Maskawa were cited for their work on the origin of CP violation that predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks, which was published in Progress of Theoretical Physics (PTP), Vol. 49 (1973), pp. 652-657. Our journal has also published many other papers by these authors. In addition, Professor Maskawa was a member of the Editorial Committee of PTP for many years and has been a member of the Advisory Council since 2003.

Professor Nambu published twenty-one papers in PTP and nine in PTP Supplement. (Unfortunately, however, the paper for which he was awarded the Nobel Prize is not among these.) We have also published a volume commemorating his work, Supplement No. 86 (1986). This volume consists of the proceedings of a symposium held on the occasion of his 65th birthday, in which many authors discuss the various fundamental contributions made by Professor Nambu to the current theory of particle physics, such as spontaneous symmetry breaking, color, strings and other subjects.

We are very proud of the fact that PTP also published the paper for which Professor Sin-itiro Tomonaga was awarded the Nobel Prize in our first volume. For many years, we have been striving to publish groundbreaking papers in our journal. Recently, we have launched a new Online Submission and Review System for easier submission and also reformed the Editorial Committee in order to speed up the evaluation process, while also achieving a higher quality of review. We encourage all physicists to submit their important papers to our historically influential journal.

Taichiro Kugo
Head Editor

  Copyright © 2012 Progress of Theoretical Physics