Nobel Prize in Physics 2008

Our former Director, Toshihide Maskawa, has received the Nobel Prize together with Makoto Kobayashi ! Furthermore, one of our International Advisor, Yoichiro Nambu, has also become a Nobel Prize Winner !

Yoichiro Nambu

for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics

Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa

for the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature