Thanks to their exquisite controllability and cleanness, systems of ultracold atoms serve as an ideal platform for studying quantum many-body phenomena, including superfluidity, superconductivity, quantum magnetism, quantum phase transitions, Efimov effects, and non-equilibrium quantum dynamics. Studies in this field have been further stimulated by very recent experimental advances, such as the observations of long-range magnetic ordering in the Hubbard simulator, Bose-condensed droplets, and various topological band structures.

The aim of this workshop is to bring together researchers in the field of ultracold atoms from Kyoto, Beijing, Tokyo, and other cities in Japan and China, and to have intensive discussions on cutting-edge topics of this evolving field. This workshop is held as an Alliance Workshop of the "Topological Materials Science" project supported by MEXT of Japan. The 1st and 3rd workshops were held in Institute for Advanced Studies, Tsinghua University while the 2nd workshop was held in University of Tokyo. For details of the previous workshops, see

1st workshop

2nd workshop

3rd workshop


Important Dates

August 14: Due date for financial support

September 14: Due date for registration and abstract submission

September 30 - October 3: Workshop


Invited Speakers  (updated on July 22nd, 2019)

Yu Chen (Capical Normal University)

Chao Gao (Zhejiang Normal University)

Shimpei Goto (Kindai University)

Gyuboong Jo (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Chang Liu (Tsinghua University)

Xiaopeng Li (Fudan University)

Takashi Mukaiyama (Osaka University)

Masaya Nakagawa (University of Tokyo)

Yusuke Nishida (Tokyo Institute of Technology)

Koki Ono (Kyoto University)

Tomoki Ozawa (RIKEN)

Tao Shi (Chinese Academy of Science)

Shintaro Taie (Kyoto University)

Keisuke Totsuka (Kyoto University)

Manuel Valiente (Tsinghua University)

Zhong Wang (Tsinghua University)

Yadong Wu (Tsinghua University)

Zhigang Wu (Southern University of Science and Technology)

Daisuke Yamamoto (Aoyama Gakuin University)

Juan Yao (Pengcheng Laboratory)

Zhiyuan Yao (Tsinghua University)

Wei Yi (University of Science and Technology of China)

Shuhei Yoshida (NEC)

Zhenhua Yu (Sun Yat-Sen University)

Emi Yukawa (RIKEN)

Hui Zhai (Tsinghua University)

Peng Zhang (Renmin University)

Shizhong Zhang (Hong Kong University)

Wei Zhang (Renmin University)



Ippei Danshita (Kindai University)

Shunsuke Furukawa (Keio University)

Masatoshi Sato (Kyoto University)

Keisuke Totsuka (Kyoto University)

Masahito Ueda (University of Tokyo)

Hui Zhai (Tsinghua University)




Topological Materials Science